A deep regret: Unable to celebrate Free Comic Book Day 2016

free-comic-book-day-fully-booked

Lucky fans with their loot at Fully Booked (image from Fully Booked)

As a comic book fan, I carry with great sorrow and deep regret my inability to celebrate Free Comic Book Day 2016 today. I had prepared for this day since I first heard about it last year. I was ready to celebrate weeks ago, ready to splurge money on back issues, graphic novels, and manga. However, circumstances beyond my control have stifled my desire for celebration.

My situation at work have caused me money problems, and with it comes certain other problems. I was ready to celebrate Free Comic Book Day 2016, but I was not ready for the situation I found myself into. As someone who is still rebuilding both life and career, there is so much to lose.

I have to postpone two important trips that I have scheduled for this year. The resources I have set aside for travels, I divert them to current sustenance. I need to support myself in this current situation, and I have to postpone celebration.

free-comic-book-day-comic-odyssey

Buyers scan for discounted goodies at Comic Odyssey (image from Fully Booked)

I tried to celebrate Free Comic Book Day 2016 without money. That is, by showing up at a local bookstore to get my hands on free comics. However, the local Fully Booked branch in this metropolitan area, a self-proclaimed tourists’ paradise, does not give away free comics (but sell discounted comics anyway). There is not a single Filbar’s in this so-called paradise, and worse, National Bookstore does not celebrate Free Comic Book Day 2016. (However, I can wait for their great warehouse sale.)

free-comic-book-day-filbars

Discounted comics for sale at Filbar’s (image from Filbar’s Online)

No money, and the location is not inviting. I’m double bummed out. I am at a disadvantage.

I don’t want to pity myself over my misfortune. I have no choice but to move forward. God knows I have a great reason to celebrate Free Comic Book Day even if I live in a metropolitan area that is not conducive to comic book culture. The time will come I can finally celebrate this event. I will be able to travel to Metro Manila one day to get my hands on free comics.

#FCBD2016

Leave a Reply

