My Favorite Jpop Songs That Ain’t Related to AKB48

Jpop artists

Jpop artists (Photo from Tofugu.com)

Jpop favorites other than AKB48

Thanks to AKB48, I learned to listen to other Jpop artists, this time for the beauty of their tunes and the great scenery or story line of their music videos – not for the gals in bikinis. Call that cultural understanding, but I call it survival. I cannot live without good music, and what I cannot find in the western or local music scene, I find in Jpop. What I can’t hear from the local FM stations, I can watch in YouTube or Jpopsuki TV.

Thuggery, sex, arrogance and other nonsense make up the lyrics and music videos of many western artists. In Jpop, I sense empowerment and encouragement. Its lyrics speak of inspiration and desire for a beautiful life. It motivates one to celebrate the beauty of life, the vitality of youth, with such tunes in the background. It reminds that life is a celebration of beauty and power in simple places – but clean fun at that.

I believe there are still many Jpop songs I should listen to, but at the moment, I have a few tunes to hum to and celebrate with while living out my life.

Ame No Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou Ka by Morning Musume – My favorite tune of 2013, and perhaps my current most favorite Jpop song. Some parts of the song is in Chinese, sung by two Chinese members of Morning Musume. It was the Chinese parts that drew me to the song. The lyrics remind me of a current situation: El Nino in the Philippines. I hope Junjun and Linlin can make it rain here.

Heaven Is A Place on Earth by fripSide – I found the song months after my first introduction to AKB48. MY most favorite song of 2011 and my favorite non-AKB48 Jpop song until Ame No Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou Ka took over. I’d love a helicoptor ride over Tokyo and later landing at the backyard of Haruna Kojima or Mai Shiraishi’s home. Just kidding.

Arigatou by Funky Monkey Babys – A beautiful song of thanksgiving. One of my LSS songs in 2013. I recall a similar thanksgiving song, Salamat by Yeng Constantino.

Decade by fripSide – A song I anticipated from the band in 2012. A very powerful tune. This song made my 2012 worth living for and recalling for good times’ sake.

Aruiteru by Morning Musume – Members walk around throughout the day in the countryside, and later calling it a night by singing around a bonfire. What a great way to close a day!

Bokura no Monogatari by GReeeeN – Many problems in life are not solved by just giving up. By committing suicide, we lose the opportunity to witness how life can be beautiful, how we can be successful and powerful.

Eternity by BoA – Korean beauty belting out a tune in the Japanese tongue. How beautiful! She’s got initiative to break into the Jpop market. But most of those Kpop artists… well, never mind.

Genki Pika Pika by Morning Musume – Okay, I did not love song just because it reminds me of the members in bikinis. The song is very catchy, that’s all. By the way, Tanaka Reina looks cute, doesn’t she?

Heroes by GReeeen – The girl in the video should apply for a place in the Mighty Avengers or the X-Men. Her costume? The school uniform she’s wearing. Captain America, Professor X, please call her now.

Next Flight by Passpo – Japanese idol culture meets L.A rock metal culture. A mash-up of two different music world. One great song to dance to.

Oto no Naru Hou e by Goose House – This song makes me think I should have a “barkada” or a group of close friends so I can have company to go to bars, visit beaches, and hang out at the mall. If I can find people who share the same musical interests. But I love being alone. Thanks!

Promise by Mihimaru GT – One of my most favorite songs of all times. It gives me a “feel good” vibes. The melody is so sweet and powerful at the same time. It’s a heartfelt tune to listen to when returning to civilization after spend a few hours at the countryside.

Sakura Color by GReeeeN – By the sight of the cherry tree in full bloom I shall have hope – and a beautiful song to listen to. It’s time Sarah Geronimo, Yeng Constantino, Julie Ann San Jose, Erik Santos, Gary V, Martin Nievera, Leah Salonga, Charice and other Filipino singers sing about coconut trees, banana trees and bamboo.

Salamander by ELLEGARDEN – This is what rock music should be.

Stand By Me by The Brilliant Green – Another song with “feel good” vibes. For easy listing along the road, especially when you’re road tripping into the countryside.

Yaruki Switch by Becky – Kathryn Bernardo, Anne Curtis, Toni Gonzaga, Alex Gonzaga, Solenn Heusaff and Maja Salvador still have a very long way to become legit popstars.

1 Year, 2 Months, 20 Days by Bright – I’m not really into songs that have an R&B-y feel, but this one stands out. This doesn’t sound like a heartbreak song at all, but wow! I love the dance steps and the gorgeous ladies.

Kimi Dake No Story by Mihimaru GT – A soundtrack to a celebration of a happy life after a time of hard work and sacrifice.

4 Comments

  1. Re: “not for the gals in bikinis. ”

    Yes, if all someone wanted to do was look at girls, there would be easier alternatives than looking up idol groups. So yes, there must be something more to it.

  2. You have a lot of good choices here. You may want to have a post about anime themes which are often some of the best Jpop songs.

  3. Here is a good example. The end theme from Sword Art Online. I hope you enjoy it.

    • Hello Danny, thank you very much for reading my post!

      Thank you very much too for your recommendation! This is a very soulful song! I’m suckers for Jpop ballads!

Leave a Reply

