What? PhP 686 for a Philippine Postal ID?

An example of a Philippine Postal ID (photo from http://clumsyfancy.blogspot.com/)

An example of a Philippine Postal ID (photo from http://clumsyfancy.blogspot.com/)

Days ago, I got myself a new postal ID. The previous one I had was way back in 2009, and it just expired last month, so I would need a new one. I really find the postal ID handy.

In the Philippines, the postal ID is one of the primary IDs you need when making transactions or claims at money remittance centers like Cebuana Lhuillier and M. Lhuillier. Anyone can obtain this ID easily, even if they are unemployed (they could classify as ‘self-employed’ as in my case before), provided they have their requirements. If you want one, just head to the post office in your area.

I got the idea of a postal ID being an important ID was back five years ago when I was still unemployed. A former classmate visited me one morning to borrow my transcript of records (TOR). He wanted to duplicate it so he can apply for a call center job. He told me he even got a postal ID. Later that day, right after he returned my TOR, I left for the post office in town.

However, I did not recall paying more than PhP 200 for my first postal ID. As far as I can remember, I just paid PhP 140. So after five year, the fee has increased to PhP 686? If the poster at the city’s post office is to believed, the last fee was PhP 530.

What do I get from the PhP 686 that I paid for, other than the ID itself and the right to own a valid one?

Here’s what I got that I never got from my PhP 140-worth postal ID:

  • 1/2” x 2” colored photos – I bought my own photo to the application of my first postal ID. For the application of my second one, the post office of the city where I am currently residing does have their own photo service, so I got two. I did bring my own photos, though.
  • Lamination – Good enough that they had my ID laminated, or else I would have a hard time finding a lamination service near my place.
  • Notarization – What for? At the first application, the town’s post master just told me to find someone from the town hall who can attest to my residency in the barangay (village) where I lived. Why do I need notarization when I had my barangay clearance and photocopy of the barangay captain’s ID? Is not that redundant?
  • 3-year validity – But my first one was valid for 5 year. SO with rising fee comes shorter validity? What the Philippine Postal Corporation playing at?

Well, I got myself a new, valid postal ID that is valid for only 3 years.

Years ago, I thought of a career in a post office. I just thought of it.

Leave a Reply

