No Facebook, No Twitter, No Problem

social-media-people

Social media obsession in people’s minds (image from brandingpersonality.com)

For many weeks now, I have stayed away from Facebook and Twitter. I am liking it as the days pass by. It feels good to restrain from the social media trend that is keeping people so preoccupied with their PCs, laptops, tablets and smartphones and not to get involved in sensationalism. For some purposes, I only maintain LinkedIn (for employment purposes), StumbleUpon (social bookmarking to save a few online favorites), MySpace (my first social media account now stores my favorite songs) and YouTube (to watch music videos and movie trailers).

Keeping off Facebook and Twitter, I can avoid sources of conflict, stress, and anxiety. This is one way to stay away from the world’s problems and other people’s issues. This is a better way to prevent a weak heart and avoid envy. (Ignorance is bliss when it comes to this.) I have been wrongly using social media for so long since 2009. Instead of connecting with family and friends and sharing meaningful posts, I pry on the private affairs of others (because people comment or post about them online), stalk a few profiles but not obsessively, just out of curiosity, and post or tweet things of little or no value.

With two of the world’s most powerful social media deprived of my clicks at the moment, I isolate myself from the world and cut contact with people who will never notice I am away for a while and may not even give a damn after all.

At least I don’t have to know what expensive or exotic food people have for meals, what place they visited or what upscale mall they will go to meet their friends. I don’t have to know when will they take their drugs or booze at what-place-is-that or with-whom-they-are-going-out-with. I don’t need to know what they wear, what they buy, where they go, whatever. I am learning my lessons now. I don’t want Facebook and Twitter to add further to my embarrassment and ineptitude.

I have nothing good to post or tweet about so I need to stay shut. I cannot afford to waste energy. If I have spare, maybe I can reactivate my accounts for a bit and deactivate them later on. If I cannot be responsible with my offline life, how much more for the online? I have been irresponsible with the ways I have used social media.

With me being out of Facebook and Twitter-verse, I will not poke my nose in other people’s affairs, cringe at the horror of their pictures, comment on their statements, like for no reasons at all and share or re-tweet nonsense.

I have too much stress to handle in the real world. I want nothing else from the online world, a realm that is reeked in insincerity and devoid of real human interaction.

No Facebook, no Twitter, no problem. I can now concentrate at work.

This is a challenge I can face.

Leave a Reply

